The UW Seattle campus dates back to the 1890s when the institution was relocated from the downtown Metropolitan Tract and construction of the first academic, administrative and residential buildings began. Arranged around a quadrangle in 1904, these were followed by permanent structures built between 1909 and 1914. Growth continued, even into the Depression years of the 1930s, while the mid-century saw the origins of the modern-era campus; further expansion to the south and east for medical, science, athletic and sport facilities; and construction of expressive post-war buildings that embodied progress and optimism. Advancements in the 1960s and 1970s saw a renaissance in landscape planning, the creation of special outdoor spaces, and the preservation of unique, historical landscapes.
While fostering continuous use, improvements and innovations to significant buildings, the University works to insure that historic significance, value and association of the campus is preserved. To insure this occurs on a comprehensive project-by-project basis, the University utilizes a multi-step process for historic preservation review, outlined in the University President’s Executive Order 50, created in 2015.
National Register of Historic Places (NRHP), Washington Heritage Register, or Seattle Landmarks Listed Resources
Historic resources on campus that are listed in the NRHP, Heritage Register and/or Seattle Landmarks are:
- Architecture Hall (1909)
- Canoe House (1918)
- Clark Hall (1896)
- Denny Hall (1895)
- Jacobsen Observatory (1895)
- Lewis Hall (1896)
- Parrington Hall (1902)
- University of Washington Club (1960)
- University of Washington Columns (1911)
For the most up to date listings, visit the Washington State Department of Archaeology and Historic Preservation (DAHP) website.